Featured Bookmaker

18+ - You must be 18 Years Old or over to use this website.

Copa America Betting

The Copa America is an international football tournament organised by CONEMBOL for the South American nations. The competition involves al 12 South American nations as well as two invitees from the rest of the world, usually, but not exclusively, from the CONCACAF governing body.

The Copa America is now held every four years in the southern hemisphere wintertime. It was first staged in 1916 and the latest tournament was held in Argentina in 2011, with the next Copa America taking place in Chilie in 2015.

There are 10 South American nations which include Argentina, Brazil, Bolivia, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay and Venezuela, and there are two invited teams from other football confederations that make up the 12-team field. As CONMEBOL only has the 10 members mentioned above, no qualification for the tournament is necessary. The invitees also do not have to qualify as they are invited on their own merits, such as good performances in the World Cup finals or from other qualification stages in their own confederations.

Our top recommended bookmakers for Copa America Betting
18+ New Customers Only. Terms & Conditions Apply. Please Gamble Responsibly

History of the Copa America

This South American Championship, first held in 1916, has normally been hosted every two years, but from 2007, was be staged once every four years. Now called the Copa America, the event is the oldest running international tournament in the Football Betting Calendar and is contested by the ten teams that make up Conmebol in South America and the two guest teams.

It was held for the first time, in July 1916, as part of the centenary commemorations of Argentina's independence. The confederation making up CONMEBOL was established on Argentina's independence day, July 9th. The tournament was normally held every two years (but the intervals sometimes changed) until 2007.

This prestigious tournament was previously known as Campeonato Sudamericano de Selecciones or South American Championship of Nations - its official English language name. The current name has been in existence since 1975. For eight years between 1975 and 1983 it had no host nation, and was held in a home-away fashion. In 1984, the CONMEBOL's policy was to rotate the right to host the Copa América amongst the ten member confederations. The first rotation was completed in 2007, when the competition took place in Venezuela.

Since 1993, two teams from other confederations (often CONCACAF), are invited as many of its members are geographically and culturally close to CONMEBOL's members).

Previous Winners of the Copa America

  • Winners of the last six tournaments have included:
  • 2011 - Uruguay 3-0 Paraguay
  • 2007 - Brazil 3-0 Argentina
  • 2004 - Brazil 2-2 Argentina (4-2 Pens)
  • 2001 - Colombia 1-0 Mexico
  • 1999 - Brazil 3-0 Uruguay
  • 1997 - Brazil 3-1 Bolivia

Copa America Betting Exchanges

Betting on the Copa America has become even popular with the betting community, as matches are now streamed live throughout the world. Copa America betting is not only restricted to bookmakers, but betting exchanges such as the popular Betfair also run markets on the tournament outright, individual match betting and specials.