Honda Classic Betting 2013

The big names in golf now do not miss the Honda Classic in Florida at the back end of February with over million in prize money for the winner and crucial preparation needed ahead of the Majors getting underway in April.

Five of the world’s top 10 golfers are in action at Palm Beach Gardens and are rightly amongst the favourites with Tiger Woods heading that list, followed by the likes of Rory McIlroy, Justin Rose, Louis Oosthuizen and Lee Westwood.

McIlroy is the defending champion but goes into this event in pretty poor form having lost in the first round of the WGC-Accenture Match Play just a week before the event begins in Florida. Tournament favourite Woods did the same though so there is not a great amount of form being shown by the big guns. The stats are also against McIlroy as only one man has ever retained the title and that was Jack Nicklaus all the way back in 1978.

Of the men from the top five in the world in action, Rose could offer the best value having been the most consistent of those players so far this year. The Englishman could continue his charge up the rankings and at a price of around 14/1 he looks a decent price.

An American has not won the event since 2007 when the little-known Mark Wilson lifted the trophy so it could be time for a home favourite to taste success. Woods is obviously the most likely but Keegan Bradley and Jason Dufner are also good candidates and are available at around 25/1.


Honda Classic History

The Honda Classic has grown from fairly inauspicious roots to being one of the biggest tournaments of the early golf season and the vast majority of the big name competing in the event at Palm Beach Gardens in Florida.

The competition began all the way back in 1972 when it was known as Jackie Gleason’s Inverrary Classic and Tom Weiskopf won the ,000 first prize thanks to a very tidy round of 278 at  the Inverrary Golf Club.

The event remained there until 1983 with some stellar names lifting the trophy including Lee  Trevino, Jack Nicklaus and Hale Irwin with the prize money creeping up to a very acceptable ,000 for the winner.

The event moved to the TPC Eagle Trace course in Coral Springs in 1984 although the move did not seem to help as the competition did not always attract the biggest names and it was getting something of a reputation for not being worthwhile.

The venue changed again in 1992 and then went on to lead something of a nomadic existence until it found a true home in 2007 at the PGA National Gold Club on the Champion Course. This has undoubtedly led the tournament to be come all the more prestigious and one that everyone wants to win, not least for the ,026,000 on offer for the winner.

It took 20 years for a non-American to win the event until Nick Price of Zimbabwe won the event in 1994 and since then the winner’s enclosure has become something of a league of nations. In fact the nine tournaments between 2005 and 2012 were won by men from eight different countries.

With more and more big names competing the competition is fierce in Florida but it can still throw up some big surprises as Camilo Villegas in 2010 and Rory Sabatini in 2011 proved with their wins, so be careful as it can be a bit of a betting minefield.