Grand Slam of Darts Betting

The Grand Slam of Darts is a PDC organised tournament that is traditionally played at the Wolverhampton Civic Hall in November of each year. The PDC also invite the best of the BDO players for a rare competition that pits the players of the two organisations against one another.

As the name suggests, the Grand Slam of Darts aims to crown the best darts player as champion, regardless of the organisation they are contracted to. Semi finalists from the BDO World Championships of the previous two years are traditionally invited to take part.

Although previous tournaments pitting PDC players against BDO players have been staged, the Grand Slam of Darts is now seen as the premier, and only, competition in which darts players from both organisations compete.

Grand Slam of Darts Winner Betting

Grand Slam of Darts betting begins with a group stage format with the 32 players split into eight groups of four. The players then play every other player in their group once over a best-of-9-legs format with the winner of each match being awarded two points, the top two players from each group then progress to the second round where the tournament becomes a straight knockout competition.

Phil Taylor won the Grand Slam of Darts in its opening three years from 2007 to 2009 before Scott Waites became the first BDO registered player to lift the title in 2010.

PDC registered players tend to clutter the head of the Grand Slam of Darts betting markets, but, as Waites proved in 2010, BDO players are more than capable of producing a Darts Betting upset when up against their PDC peers.

Past winners;

  • 2012 – Raymond van Barneveld beat Michael van Gerwen
  • 2011 – Phil Taylor beat Gary Anderson
  • 2010 – Scott Waites beat James Wade
  • 2009 – Phil Taylor beat Scott Waites
  • 2008 – Phil Taylor beat Terry Jenkins
  • 2007 – Phil Taylor beat Andy Hamilton

Grand Slam of Darts Betting Markets

The betting markets for the Grand Slam of Darts are slightly different to your traditional darts tournament due to the fact that the tournament begins with a group stage. Similarly to Champions League Betting in football the tournament begins with eight groups and therefore punters can wager on which player will top each individual group as well as betting on a range of markets relating to each individual match.

Individual match markets in Grand Slam of Darts betting range from match winner and correct score betting to handicap betting, number of 180s hit, highest checkouts and more.

Outright markets are naturally focussed on the winner of the event but there is also Grand Slam of Darts betting regarding the number of tournament 180s, player individual progress throughout the tournament, which players will make the final and whether there will be a nine darter.