Indian Premier League Cricket Betting

The Indian Premier League is arguably the elite competition of the T20 form of the game. Without doubt, a world without the Indian Premier League would be a duller place, as Cricket's best batsman and bowlers descend upon India each season for 76 cracking matches, in which all are available to bet on via traditional bookmakers and the exchanges.

Teams play each other twice – home and away and the top four ranking sides then progress to the semi-finals. Squads must have at least sixteen players with no more than 11 overseas players in the squad and four overseas players in each playing eleven. Six players have to be under the age of 22 in each squad and 14 must be Indian. The whole Twenty20 approach to the game of cricket has created much controversy but it is unlikely to go away. It’s far too exciting and lucrative and cricket will just have to find a way to accommodate it.

Our Top recommended Bookmakers for Indian Premier League Cricket Betting
18+ New Customers Only. Terms & Conditions Apply. Please Gamble Responsibly

Indian Premier League Betting Opportunites

IPL Cricket Betting fans have an exciting time too. There’s no waiting around for days until the result is revealed and what’s more, these days you’re not just restricted to betting on which side will win. Online betting sites offer a vast range of betting opportunity with bets available on

  • Top scoring batsman from either side
  • Opening partnership scores
  • One player against another
  • Player to score 50+ runs
  • Innings runs
  • Draw or not
  • Match to complete
  • Series win, including win margins

And plenty more, depending on the imagination of the bookmakers. You can also bet throughout the game as the fortunes of the teams and the odds on offer change to reflect progress. If you’re going to the match, make sure you carry your laptop, tablet or smartphone with you to keep up with the betting action. There are also lots of IPL free bets available to new customers of online betting sites and these constantly change so keep an eye open for the best deals. There are sites to help you do this as well as guide you to the bookie best suited to your needs.

Indian Premier League History

The IPL came into existence in 2008 when the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) initiated the competition that was set to change the face of the game across the world. Never before had players been able to earn the amounts of money that were on offer by the various city based franchises around India and they were all ready to lap it up.

There were objections from various governing bodies around the world, most notably England which saw no Englishman compete in the competition its first season (except Dmitri Mascarenhas who was out of contention for the national side).

The first IPL began as an eight team tournament which the Rajasthan Royals won, beating the Chennai Super Kings in the final. The next year remained with the same field but it was the now defunct Deccan Chargers who prevailed with a win over Royal Challengers Bangalore in the final.

2010 again saw the same field and brought about the first success in the competition for the Super Kings although the star of the tournament was Sachin Tendulkar of the beaten finalists the Mumbai Indians. He scored 618 runs that campaign at an average of 47.54, a staggering achievement in this form of the game.

Chennai retained their title the following year but the format had changed with the introduction of Kochi Tuskers Kerala and Pune Warriors India to the tournament. Kochi only lasted a year as they dropped out in 2012 when Kolkata Knight Riders won their first title. Deccan were gone for 2013 and replaced by Sunrises Hyderabad.

The 2013 renewal of the competition saw the Mumbai Indians prevail over a nine-field tournament, in which Michael Hussey scored the highest overall with the bat for the Chennai Super Kings (733), who lost out in the final by 23 runs.

2014 saw the Kolkata Knight Riders claim their second title with a victory by three wickets in the final over the Kings XI Punjab. This year was also notable for the fact that some of the games were also held in the UAE due to security issues.

The Mumbai Indians were triumphant for a second time in 2015 having finished second in the round robin stage. They went on to record victory over the Chennai Super Kings in the final by 41 runs as they were inspired by captain Rohit Sharma.

The ninth season of the IPL saw the Sunrisers Hyderebad claim their first ever title whilst the Rising Pune Supergiants and Gujarat Lions made their tournament debut. This was the first season that saw the use of LED stumps and culminated in a thrilling eight run victory for the Sunrisers over the Royal Challengers Bangalore.