Featured Bookmaker

18+ - You must be 18 Years Old or over to use this website.

Mosconi Cup Betting

The Mosconi Cup is a pool tournament played annually between teams from the United States of America and Europe. The location for the four-day tournament now alternates between venues in the USA and Europe after the first nine tournaments, from 1994 to 2002, were all hosted by English venues.

Our top recommended bookmakers for Mosconi Cup Betting...
18+ New Customers Only. Terms & Conditions Apply. Please Gamble Responsibly

The event is modelled on the Ryder Cup in golf and includes matches played in a teams, doubles and singles format. There are a total of 21 matches with the winner therefore determined by the first team to reach 11 points.

Each match is played over a race-to-six-frames format with players breaking alternately in each frame. A shot clock rule is also applied which allows each player to have up to 30 seconds to complete each shot.

Mosconi Cup Rules

Each team in the Mosconi Cup consists of six people; five players and a non-playing captain. Again similarly to the Ryder Cup, the teams are determined by the top-three ranked players based on results throughout the year plus two captain’s picks.

The captain’s duties include choosing which players will be paired together for each particular match and also the order in which they ask their players to play in the singles leg of the cup.

Traditionally the Mosconi Cup sees a mixture of doubles and singles matches played from Thursday through to Saturday with the cup concluding with a series of singles matches on Sunday. The Mosconi Cup betting winner is determined by the first team to reach 11 points, at which stage the tournament ends and, typically, celebrations ensue.

The rules of the Mosconi Cup follow traditional nine-ball rules. Balls are racked higher up the table with the 9-ball resting on the spot, the cue ball must be struck from within the break box, following the break shot three balls must pass the headstring and any foul shot is punished by the opponent being given ball in hand.

Mosconi Cup History

The Mosconi Cup is named after the late Willie Mosconi, and American professional pool player who won the World Straight Pool Championship an unmatched 15 times between 1941 and 1957.

From 1994 to 2002 the tournament was staged in England with six of those Mosconi Cups played at Bethnal green. In 2003 the Mosconi Cup venue adopted a rotation policy, with each of the events stage in USA since then played in Las Vegas.

The USA won the first ever Mosconi Cup in 1994 with Europe taking the title the following year. The US then enjoyed a period of dominance and won the next six consecutive and nine of the next ten Mosconi Cups. As of the 2010 Mosconi Cup the USA have a 11-5 advantage over Europe in relation to the number of times they have each rewarded their Mosconi Cup betting backers. There was one tied cup in 2006.

As well as big names in pool such as Johnny Archer, Earl ‘The Pearl’ Strickland, Mika Immonen and Ralf Souquet a number of top level Snooker players have also played in the Mosconi Cup over the years. In fact, six-time World Snooker Champion Steve Davis is the third most capped European player with 11 appearances at the Mosconi Cup. Other big snooker names that have played in the event include Jimmy White, Alex Higgins and Ronnie O’Sullivan.

Mosconi Cup Betting Markets

The Mosconi Cup betting markets are fairly straightforward and particularly unvaried. The bookmakers price each individual match up with a Match Odds market and a Correct Score market. Aside from that the number of markets available tend to be limited, infrequent and uncompetitive.

Most Mosconi Cup betting interest revolves around the Outright Winner market with the majority of bookmakers offering betting in-play on the winner of the tournament. It often proves to be a popular market for those who enjoy trading throughout a tournament as the odds regularly fluctuate from frame to frame and match to match.