Players Championship Golf Betting 2013

Commonly known as (and just as commonly refuted as) golf’s fifth major The Players Championship is undoubtedly the biggest golf tournament outwith the four recognised majors – The Open Championship, The US Open Championships, The Masters and the PGA Championships. It was originally known as the Tournament Players Championship and its inaugural event was in 1974 played at Atlanta Country Club in Georgia but moved to the Stadium Course at the Tournament Players Club (TPC) at Sawgrass in 1982 where it has been played ever since.

There have been 27 winners of the event since the move to Sawgrass and the most recent man to lift the trophy was Matt Kuchar in 2012 when he shot a 275 to claim the first prize of over .7 million. Kuchar is expected to challenge again and is around eighth in the betting with most bookmakers at a best price of 33/1 with Boyle Sports, but he is some way off the favourites for the event.

The man to beat is going to be Tiger Woods who surprisingly has only ever won this tournament once before, all the way back in 2001. Many think that but for a rotten bit of luck and the odd goings on surrounding his drop at the Masters then he would again have donned the green jacket and there is little reason as to why he wouldn’t be favourite again as he was at Augusta. His best price is 81/10 with Bwin with most other bookies offering a more traditional 8/1.

There is some drop to his nearest contenders in the betting with Rory McIlroy and Adam Scott joint second in the odds at 18/1. McIlroy is still yet to make a serious challenge for any event he has competed in this year and no British player has won the tournament since Sandy Lyle back in 1987 so history and form is not on his side.

The Players Championship is known to be one of the more unpredictable on the PGA tour as is illustrated by the last five winners being Kuchar, K.J. Choi, Tim Clark, Henrik Stenson and Sergio Garcia, none of whom have won one of the traditional majors. This means that, although there will be plenty of money put on Tiger to win a second title at Sawgrass, punters should be weary of the competition. History tells us that anyone can win this and make a clever outside pick with a free bet and you could be raking in the winnings.

The tournament runs from May 9-12 at Sawgrass and the betting opportunities are from prior to the event right until the final strokes.

Our top recommended bookmakers for Players Championship Golf Betting
18+ New Customers Only. Terms & Conditions Apply. Please Gamble Responsibly

The Players Championship Golf Course

Despite popular misconception the TPC at Sawgrass is in fact an acronym of ‘Tournament Players Club at Sawgrass’ and not ‘The Players Championship at Sawgrass’. It is a Par 72 course and at its most recent measurement is 7,215 yards in length.

Its signature hole is the 17th, dubbed “the hardest hole in golf”. A short par 3 in essence, just 121 yards from tee to the middle of the green, but its island green (from which the hole takes its name) surrounded by water make it one of the most feared holes in world golf. Situated at such a menacing place on the course many golfers have spoke of thinking and worrying about the hole in the back of their minds from standing on the first tee. It has derailed many a golfers hopes and left many punters in tears over their Players Championship Golf Betting – they say don’t count your chickens before they hatch, but you certainly shouldn’t count your winnings before the 17th at TPC Sawgrass.

Recent Players Championship Winners

As far as betting on sport goes Golf Betting is certainly one of the most difficult due to the large fields and many variables, and the Players Championship Golf Betting is proven to be one of the most difficult to predict; aside from Jack Nicklaus who has won the tournament on three occasions only four other players have won it twice since its inauguration in 1974. The most recent winners are listed below:

Year Winner Nationality
2012 Matt Kuchar USA
2011 KJ Choi South Korea
2010 Tim Clark South Africa
2009 Henrik Stenson Sweden
2008 Sergio Garcia Spain
2007 Phil Mickelson USA
2006 Stpehen Ames Canada/ T&T
2005 Fred Funk USA
2004 Adam Scott Australia
2003 Davis Love III USA
2002 Craig Perks USA
2001 Tiger Woods USA
2000 Hal Sutton USA