Premier League Darts Betting 2016

The Premier League has been a winning formula for the PDC since its inception in 2005 and has helped darts to become one of the most popular sports for viewers in the UK.

The field contains 10 players rather than the eight it had up until 2013, with the biggest and best names in the sport taking to the oche every thursday night during the tournaments duration.

The top four in the world still qualify through the Order of Merit but the rest are picked based on achievements on the oche in recent times. This means the field is made up of Michael van Gerwen, Gary Anderson, Phil Taylor and Adrian Lewis who make up the world’s top four and they are joined by the six wildcards.

These men are 2014 winner Raymond van Barneveld, Robert Thornton, Peter Wright, Dave Chisnall, 2009 champion James Wade and debutant Michael Smith. 

Each man will play each other once and at the end of that process the bottom two players in the table will face relegation from the competition. Then the remaining eight will play each other again with the top four at the end of the group stage heading to the traditional finals night.

We are set for over three months of brilliant darts from when the tournament begins on February 4th in Belfast till when it concludes on May 19th in London.

Premier League Darts History

Unless you have been hibernating since 2005 you will have noticed that darts has become something of a big deal in recent years and that is largely down to the arena tour of the Premier League. In the Premier League the world’s best players take in the biggest venues across the length and breadth of the country every Thursday evening for the best part of three months.

Our top recommended bookmakers for Premier League Darts Betting

Premier League Darts betting methods

The event has been a roaring success for not only darts but also for Premier League darts betting fans who now have the opportunity for a little flutter on the arrers every Thursday night. As the Premier League tours the British Isles the players play each other twice throughout the duration of the league stage then the top four players play-off in a semi-final and final staged at Wembley Arena at the end of May. That means that every Thursday evening there are four games played between eight of the world’s best players and thus a quartet of Premier League darts betting opportunities.

Betting on the draw

However, there is a gremlin lurking in the closet when comparing Premier League darts betting with any other darts betting; the dreaded draw. Because matches are played over a best of 14 legs format there is the possibility of any fixture ending in a 7-7 tie, but it only becomes ‘the dreaded draw’ for bettors if they do not consider it before placing a bet. In no other darts tournament is the draw a possibility so regular darts bettors can often neglect it as an option when placing their bets, but if you heed my advice and consider it is a genuine runner then it need not be such a feared result. You can also consider the ‘Draw no Bet’ markets which many bookmakers now offer.

Outright winners betting

For the first four years of this tournament the Premier League belonged to Phil Taylor, not only did he win the tournament every year from 2005 to 2008 but he didn’t actually lose a game in the first three years. However, in 2009, the tournament’s fifth year, it was wrestled from his grasp and James Wade was crowned the Premier League champion in front of over 12,000 people at Wembley Arena. Since 2009 Taylor has won the title just once with Gary Anderson emerging triumphant twice including last year. Dutchmen Michael van Gerwen and Raymond van Barneveld have also won a title a piece.

Premier League Darts Free bets

If you haven’t already, then why not take advantage of some of the free bets offers that we have unearthed for you here at Free Betting Online. Use one of our affiliate bookmakers to get your most suitable free bet offer then start off with some Premier League darts betting and give your coffers a boost.